Skyeskyns

Reviews

Lovely showroom and coffee shop. Beautiful products with lots of information about their origins and the process. Staff were friendly, helpful and super knowledgeable. We only bought one lower-quality (reject?) rug for our doggos who absolutely love it - and to be honest we're envious of them!
8 months ago
This is a fantastic place with all that wool everywhere. They were very friendly showing us the tannery and the whole process. And the shop upstairs has all the fluffiness you can imagine. We could only fit a hot water bottle into our luggage, but I'm glad that we visited Skyeskyns.
9 months ago
Amazing quality wool. You won’t find anything as good as Skyeskyns anywhere else. We bought 4 skins! They ship too - so you can avoid the tax 😉
10 months ago
I had a lot of mixed feeling visiting a skin shop being an animal lover, but after learning about the process in the free tour and learning that they only source their skins from meat factories where they throw the skins away, it completely changed my mindset. I love that they take these skins that would otherwise be wasted and make beautiful pieces out of them, it feels like a way to fully honor the animal. We ended up buying a skin and absolutely love it and use it every day. We 10/10 recommend visiting this shop!
10 months ago
Bought a double sheepskin for my sofa. It arrived much earlier than expected and we love it! I never knew they were so warm to sit on. Really thrilled with the product and the service. Never used the company before but will definitely use again. Thank you!
10 months ago
I ordered some rugs for our yurt and we enjoyed a very luxurious camping trip. They are beautiful, super soft and cosy and excellent value for money. They arrived on the date I requested (it was a last minute order). Will definitely be ordering from you again. Thank you.
12 months ago
This tannery and shop is worth a visit. Stop in (no need for reservations) for a tour of the tannery to learn about how they process the skins and see examples from every step of the way. The friendly and knowledgeable staff will tell you all about how they started the shop to make valuable use of this byproduct of the meat industry. Then head up to the beautiful showroom and shop to see the finished product. Touching all of the fluffy sheepskins was a highlight. They have so many to choose from, as well as slippers, jumpers, scarves and rugs made from wool from Scotland. Bonus: the view from outside the shop is breathtaking. Highly recommend!
about 1 year ago
What an incredible shop which also has an on site tannery. A superb selection of rugs included sheep wool and cow hide. We went and bought a wool rug. Quality is excellent and extremely friendly staff. A range of other produce was on display including jumpers and hats. So glad we visited whilst on Skye. Highly recommended. Thank you for a lovely experience.
over 1 year ago
great tour by grace ...very interesting and amazing shop definately worth a look
over 1 year ago
Absolutely wonderful facility with an amazing tour. The staff are absolutely amazing, so friendly and helpful. The sheepskins are wonderful, so soft that I had realized I had never experienced fluffy before! The colors are wonderful. It's great that they ship the sheepskins back as well! I cannot wait to use my sheepskins at home! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!
over 1 year ago
Lovely sheepskins, free tannery tours that are interesting. Good food at the Yurt tearooms but with a limited menu and it closes at the end of September.
over 1 year ago
Lovely place great really friendly staff and quality products. The coffee it's great as well.
almost 2 years ago
Great little Gem, staff were knowledgeable and wonderful. We visited with a wheelchair user and they couldn’t have been more helpful. Bringing samples to my wife to view. Food in the yurt was great. Definitely worth a visit
almost 2 years ago
Was lucky to meet the Lydia and she showed me around with lots of introduction. The shop has a wide range of selections of soft and fluffy items. They also arranged shipment internationally
almost 2 years ago
Absolutely fascinating and the team of people working here are so helpful.
over 2 years ago
We decided to stop by Skye Skyns and were greeted by David, who gave us a tour of the tannery and showroom. We were amazed by the quality of this, enjoyed seeing the workshop and hearing about the sustainable production methods. Would definitely recommend the tannery for its kind and attentive staff and high quality pelts.
over 2 years ago
Really friendly at both the Portree and Waternish outlets. Loads of rugs and clothing to choose from. Brilliant best way to buy the best local goods. Love it
over 2 years ago
Very disappointed with the two rugs purchased as they are nothing like the photo on the website. The website shows a lovely skin with thick wool which is long and textured. The wool on my rugs is an inch long if it's lucky and looks heat damaged around the edges. Update. The company got in touch shortly after I posted my review, apologised and gave a full refund so I have increased to 4 stars.
over 2 years ago
We had a brilliant afternoon here. The tour is well worth the money. We learnt so much about this heritage craft and came away with a gorgeous sheepskin rug that will have pride of place at home.
over 2 years ago
This is a must! Skyeskyns is a little gem, one of only 2 tannery's left in the UK. We did the tannery tour which was extremely interesting. Staff very friendly! Impossible to leave the shop without a sheep skin! Highly recommend!
over 2 years ago
We had a really interesting, informative and humorous tour by David today. It brilliant that the traditional way of tanning is still being kept alive. David interacted with our children (11 and 14) and kept their attention well. The shop is stocked with beautiful items and the attached Yurt cafe has amazing home made cookies. Recommended!
over 2 years ago
Brilliant tour from David, Well organised shop
over 2 years ago
Very friendly lady helped us decide on a lovely sheepskin rug to buy. There is a great choice of all different things. Clothing, gifts as well as rugs. We ended up getting quite a few bits. Recommended
almost 3 years ago
Visited here on a recommendation while stopping at nearby Hazelbank self catering. Impressed with the choice of wares to buy, reasonable pricing. We bought a rug, holes, hat, and a flat cap. Staff very welcoming. Smashing views over the horizon.
almost 3 years ago
Bought a lovely looking pair of v expensive Eskimo boot slippers for my wife 13 months ago and they have come apart at the seams. The company don’t repair or replace apparently. She has older pairs from primark that are still in good nick. Very disappointing 👎
about 3 years ago
Excellent company. My wife and I visited several years ago on a trip to Scotland and bought wool moccasins, the tour and facility was very informative and interesting. I decided to buy her a new pair of the moccasins for Christmas this year. Through no fault of their own it was delayed in NY for over a month. They communicated well and gave me the tracking information. The new pair arrived and looks amazing! Would highly recommend a visit if you go to Skye!
about 3 years ago
Truly brilliant company. I had an issue which was no fault of Skyeskyns but they came to my rescue magnificently. I can’t praise them too highly. Thank you Skyeskyns
over 3 years ago
After purchasing a number of Skyeskyns products over the years from various places in the Highlands when on holiday, it was a no brainer to visit the tannery when we holidayed on the Isle Of Skye on September. We enjoyed a fantastic tour of the Tannery and with great interested we saw how the products we had bought had been made. We visitied the shop which has a fantastic array of products and again we ended up coming away with some beautiful products. Today we contacted Sheila in the office to help with a product we had bought and without quibble or questioning she sorted it immediately. What a great traditional family business. PS the Yurt is fantastic for Coffee and Cake, now Skye Coffee is my favorite. See you again soon !
over 3 years ago
Skyeskyns was just fabulous! Make sure to do the tour, where you can see how the tannery works (one of only two left in the UK!!!) and be guided through the process by one of the tanners. Everything is handmade, and the products were wonderful quality (and surprisingly good value for money!) At the time we visited there was also a coffee yurt outside which was fantastic with lovely views and good hot chocolates.
over 3 years ago
Request review